Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes ofwebsite accessibilityJames Beard Award 2022 semifinalists include so many PNW names | Seattle Refined
Search Icon
close icon black
(Image courtesy Tomo)
(Image courtesy Tomo)
Facebook Share IconTwitter Share IconPinterest Share IconEmail Share Icon

James Beard Award 2022 semifinalists include so many PNW names

Say hello to your James Beard Award semifinalists!

The restaurant industry's prestigious awards are back in 2022, and many of your Seattle favorites are getting the recognition they deserve — including the likes of Communion and Tomo. The semifinalists were announced Wednesday, including:

  • Outstanding Chef: Rachel Yang and Seif Chirchi, Joule
  • Outstanding Restaurant: The Walrus and the Carpenter
  • Emerging Chef: Kristi Brown, Communion
  • Best New Restaurant: Matia Kitchen & Bar, Orcas Island
  • Outstanding Baker: Pamela Vuong, The Flour Box
  • Outstanding Hospitality: Bar del Corso
  • Outstanding Wine Program: Tomo

And the semifinalists for Best Chef: Northwest and Pacific include:

  • Nathan Bentley, Altura Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Nick Coffey, Ursa Minor, Lopez Island, WA
  • Erasto Jackson, Lil Red’s Takeout and Catering, Seattle
  • Jonathan Jones, Epilogue Kitchen & Cocktails, Salem, OR
  • Liz Kenyon, Rupee Bar, Seattle
  • Carlo Lamagna, Magna Kusina, Portland, OR
  • Robynne Maii, Fête, Honolulu
  • Melissa Miranda, Musang, Seattle
  • David Nichols, Eight Row, Seattle
  • Vince Nguyen, Berlu, Portland, OR
  • Brandon Pettit, Delancey, Seattle
  • Thomas Pisha-Duffly, Oma's Hideaway, Portland, OR
  • Mark Pomaski, Moon & Turtle, Hilo, HI
  • Beau Schooler, In Bocca Al Lupo, Juneau, AK
  • Sheldon Simeon, Tin Roof, Kahului, HI
  • Mutsuko Soma, Kamonegi, Seattle
  • Robert Urquidi, Ethel's Grill, Honolulu
  • Jojo Vasquez, Fond, Lahaina, HI
  • Aaron Verzosa, Archipelago, Seattle
  • Chad White, Zona Blanca, Spokane, WA

The winners will be honored during the James Beard Restaurant and Chef Awards ceremony Monday, June 13, in Chicago. Find the complete list of semifinalists online.